Gov. Polis appoints three from SLV to statewide committees

SAN LUIS VALLEY — Governor Polis announced his most recent rounds of appointments to statewide committees and boards on Monday, Nov. 1, naming three individuals from the San Luis Valley to serve in various capacities.

Statewide boards and committees were formed to include individuals with a broad range of perspectives and backgrounds in decisions that have statewide impact as well as to encourage participation from a diversity of communities.

Lori Laske, Alamosa County commissioner, was appointed to serve on the Colorado State Child Fatality Prevention Review Team (CFPS).

The purpose of the CFPS is to conduct multidisciplinary and comprehensive reviews of child fatalities that occur in Colorado in order to better understand how and why children die and to develop and implement strategies to prevent future deaths from occurring. These reviews are conducted by local child fatality prevention and review teams across the state.

The CFPS State Review Team is responsible for reviewing the aggregated data and recommendations submitted by local teams to identify recommendations to prevent child deaths in Colorado, including policy recommendations. Commissioner Laske’s term is set to expire on Sept. 1, 2024.

David Warsh of Center was appointed to serve on the Colorado Wildlife Habitat Stamp Committee. Warsh is a landowner actively engaged in agriculture.

The Colorado Wildlife Habitat Stamp Committee shall annually review proposed projects for expenditure of Colorado wildlife habitat stamp funds and make recommendations to the director and the wildlife commission.

Warsh’s term will expire on Dec. 31, 2024.

Christine Canaly, a Democrat, non-attorney, member from Saguache County and resident of Crestone, was appointed to serve on the Twelfth Judicial District Judicial Nominating Commission.

There is a judicial district nominating commission for each of Colorado’s 22 judicial districts that selects nominees for district and county judicial vacancies. Each district nominating commission is chaired by a justice of the Supreme Court, who is a non-voting member of the commission. Canaly’s term will expire on Dec. 31, 2024.